samg09
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey guys. I’m in my second year or university and I just want some advice about effective revision strategies for university. There is so much content and reading and stuff I’m just not sure how to go about it or even when to begin. If anyone has some successful tips please let me known! TIA
University of Portsmouth Student Rep
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by samg09)
Hey guys. I’m in my second year or university and I just want some advice about effective revision strategies for university. There is so much content and reading and stuff I’m just not sure how to go about it or even when to begin. If anyone has some successful tips please let me known! TIA
Hello samg09!

Do you make notes on all of your extra reading?
Unless the lecturer specifically tells you to do this then I would just take the extra reading as extra reading. I find it helps to consolidate the information you have been taught in lecturers and put it into a contextual form that makes it easier to understand!
(This obviously depends on your course! I do science based so this is what I find helps)

I also really like to do my revision on flash cards with the key information that I need to know on there
I go through them and ask someone to test me on them or I rewrite the content until I am much more confident on it!

I hope these tips help you a little
Eloise - Official Student Rep
samg09
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by University of Portsmouth Student Rep)
Hello samg09!

Do you make notes on all of your extra reading?
Unless the lecturer specifically tells you to do this then I would just take the extra reading as extra reading. I find it helps to consolidate the information you have been taught in lecturers and put it into a contextual form that makes it easier to understand!
(This obviously depends on your course! I do science based so this is what I find helps)