Penguin06
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
I'm a 2nd year psychology student at the Uni of Reading. I live in Birmingham outside term time. My 3rd year consists of a placement which i'm required to seek myself.

I want to go into clinical psychology so need a good placement relevant to this. Can anyone help me out? I'm struggling to find one.

Thanks in advance
Noodlzzz
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
Try and get something that has supervision of a clinical psychologist
Penguin06
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 months ago
(Original post by Noodlzzz)
Try and get something that has supervision of a clinical psychologist
Yeah I'm tryna get like assistant clinical psychologist or honorary clinical research assistant but it's just hard to find lol

I've been emailing hospitals and that but many say no or don't reply.

Careers advisors have been helpful.
jenerous
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Is the placement year included in the course you're doing? I thought the Universities who provide a placement year would assign, or at least, substantially help find the placement. Otherwise, how is it any different than doing three years at any other University and then, finding work for yourself.

Sorry, I know this is not answering your question, but I really thought that was why students chose Universities with the placement year option.
Please do clarify if I'm mistaken.
Lord Asriel
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
Generally, if a university offers a placement year, there is a placement support coordinator who liases with various potential supervisors and advertises placements. This is how we offer placements in our service, and they help with paperwork, DRB checks and make sure everything is running smoothly. The system protects both the service but also the undergraduate on placement.