The Student Room Group

is it okay to only apply to 3 universities?

hi!
i'm currently studying a BTEC extended diploma. i'm applying to reading, brighton and westminster for Psychology w/ Foundation year.
i have other universities that i COULD apply to, but i wouldn't be happy to go to them, in all honesty.
is it wise to only apply for three? or should i apply to two more even though i don't really wanna go to them?
Original post by ouaei
hi!
i'm currently studying a BTEC extended diploma. i'm applying to reading, brighton and westminster for Psychology w/ Foundation year.
i have other universities that i COULD apply to, but i wouldn't be happy to go to them, in all honesty.
is it wise to only apply for three? or should i apply to two more even though i don't really wanna go to them?

There is no harm in applying. Have you tried researching any other universities that you might want to go to?
Original post by ouaei
hi!

Only apply to places you are interested in going to.
Original post by ouaei
hi!

Three is fine. Not a problem.
Reply 4
Yeah? Nothing telling you you can’t.

I personally only wanted to go to 2 of mine but I applied to 5 out of peace of mind. Doesn’t cost any extra and I can always cancel my application. Its a bit of a waste not putting anything when you could get SOMETHING out of it.

Just because something is there doesn’t mean you have to take it :wink:
Original post by ouaei
hi!

Hi there,

It's great to hear you want to study Psychology! If you only want to apply for three then that's completely fine. Some people do like to go with 5 choices just in case however its completely a personal choice.

I do study psychology here at Surrey, so if you have any questions about what it is like studying psychology at uni or any questions, I am more than happy to help :smile:

Becca
No point applying to universities you wouldn't feasibly choose, but also no harm in doing so.