whats the point of studying law at non-Russell group uni??

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 9 months ago
My question is that whats the point of studying law at a non-russell group uni. I know that many large law firms and magic circle law firms love russell group law students, so whats the point of studying law at a non-russell group uni. By the way I currently am studying law at a non-russell group uni and not hating. But at this point im wondering what I could do because clearly there's little to no chance of getting into a top law firm. I would love to get into these firms but im not sure if I would even stand a chance. So im wondering if there is any point in studying law at non russell group unis (im a first year student).
LibertyMan
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 9 months ago
You could still switch universities or do further study in a better uni, could you not?

I am not a law student, but is it not possible to get a decent job at a non-top firm?
Joleee
Badges: 19
Report 9 months ago
how do you know many large law firms and magic circle firms care about the name Russell Group? have you spoken to any hiring partners?

*if* there seems to be a disproportionate amount of RG graduates at said firms it's probably because they were the better applicant, has a better CV and a better interview - not because the employer has a list of RG unis on their desk and the applicant ticked the right box of attending an RG. it may be disproportionate as well because those firms get a disproportionate amount of RG grads who actually apply because those are the kids who want the job and believe they can compete for it. correlation =/= causation so i wouldn't listen to rumours that firms actually care or study which unis fall under RG.