The Student Room Group

Warwick GEM programme 2022

Hi there, thanks for checking out this thread. This is the 2022 Entry discussion for Warwick University A100.

We're now onto the 2023 application cycle, you can find the 2023 thread here. Of course, you are still welcome to browse this thread as well, but please post in the 2023 one if you have questions about Warwick.
:biggrin:

I'm a 23 year old graduate with a 2:1 in Business management with Law.
I really want to pursue medicine but I'm full of self doubt and whether I would be competent enough to study it and succeed. I would hate to start and then fail/drop out.

I am from a non science background, but I have the ability to work hard. I can't move cities so the only option I have is Warwick's GEM programme. It would be my first and only choice. Is that a bad idea?

Can anyone let me know - what is medicine actually like?
Do you really have to be super smart, or is hard work, time, and determination enough?
Do you know any non trad students from a non science background who excelled or did well?

If anyone could give me some advice, I'd be so grateful.

Thank you.
(edited 1 year ago)

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
Hey! I'm a graduate medic myself and used to feel that all the time. Still do! Have a science degree, but a bunch in my course are from non-traditional backgrounds, such as business. We're all doing alright really.