The Student Room Group

Not sure if I want a psychology or a nueroscience degree (UK) .

I am a yr 13 student studying maths,physics and biology at A level. I'm not sure if I want to study psychology or nueroscience (I'm leaning towards nueroscience), but I would like your opinion on it, so I'll just list why I would wanna study each subject and the downside for me, then you can make a decision.

Psychology:

Pros: Ik this sounds weird but I really love interacting with kids and I would probably become a teacher anyway. (I think this is irrelevant) but I would like to be an amazing father and obviously psychology isn't a parent guide, but it would be cool to understand human behiour. Also the content seems really interesting.

Downsides - Although the content is interesting, I HATE remembering names and dates for example I would like to know the different types of conformity (and not memorise the reasearcher that suggested those types). Another problem is that I really can't write essays. I've studiesd sociology GCSE and I hated it purly down to the fact that I can't write essays (or at least I find it really difficult).

Nueroscience:

Pros: I would like to study nueroscience cos I'm quiet good at the nervous coordination topic (from A-level bio). And I kinda like it, it's not too bad. Also, I would say I'm more 'scientifically minded', so I would probably do better at the course. I really enjoy A level bio . And like I said, I don't hate nueroscience (I kinda like it acc.)

Downsides: I would rather spend my time tutoring kids or something like that, not be in a lab and study the brain. I'm scared that I would end up doing something I hate if I chose nueroscience. I am also scared that I just wouldn't find the point of studying nueroscience anymore.

If psychology wasn't an essay based subject and I didn't have to remember so many researcher's names and dates, I would pick psychology 100%