Sept24
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
im studying health care management degree. started in September.....Its a 3 year degree with foundation year. I have worked in care for many years, but I want to change the degree to nursing. But I don't have gcse maths or English just functional skills. Does anyone know if I complete the first year of this course. and then take a year out to do a access course and then apply for a degree in nursing the following year will my funding be affected. and how do I go about taking a year out???? and changing the degree??
username5378916
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by Sept24)
im studying health care management degree. started in September.....Its a 3 year degree with foundation year. I have worked in care for many years, but I want to change the degree to nursing. But I don't have gcse maths or English just functional skills. Does anyone know if I complete the first year of this course. and then take a year out to do a access course and then apply for a degree in nursing the following year will my funding be affected. and how do I go about taking a year out???? and changing the degree??
Sorry if I misunderstood your question but if you complete a year and then do another course (starting from 1st year again) then you’ll have to pay for the year yourself, and won’t be able to get SFE.
Sept24
Rep:
?
ok I'm going to complete this course and take a year break and then start the nursing degree 2022. so I will only get 3years of funding???
MedicWil
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
(Original post by Anon12345678987)
Sorry if I misunderstood your question but if you complete a year and then do another course (starting from 1st year again) then you’ll have to pay for the year yourself, and won’t be able to get SFE.
Normally this would be correct but not in this case

Nursing is classed as an exception course meaning that it will be fully funded, even if you have done a course in the past.