The Student Room Group

Is it worth doing a masters?

I graduated in 2019 with a Biology degree (2.1), and have been working in a lab since January last year (18k a year). I’ve been accepted into a too 10 uni, to study for a masters in Biomedicine, however, i’m on the fence as to whether this would be worth giving my current job up for.. i’m probably not naturally intelligent, i just work pretty hard, however i’m not sure whether this masters will be a step too far, despite my interest for the subject. Would a masters realistically enhance my career prospects? And is it worth giving my current 18k a year job up for? Any advice would be appreciated.

Scroll to see replies

Original post by BadgerboyJC
I graduated in 2019 with a Biology degree (2.1), and have been working in a lab since January last year (18k a year). I’ve been accepted into a too 10 uni, to study for a masters in Biomedicine, however, i’m on the fence as to whether this would be worth giving my current job up for.. i’m probably not naturally intelligent, i just work pretty hard, however i’m not sure whether this masters will be a step too far, despite my interest for the subject. Would a masters realistically enhance my career prospects? And is it worth giving my current 18k a year job up for? Any advice would be appreciated.

I would think that it depends on the uni that you intend to attend. If it is Oxbridge then I’d suggest that you take the leap. Good luck
Original post by Wired_1800
I would think that it depends on the uni that you intend to attend. If it is Oxbridge then I’d suggest that you take the leap. Good luck

Are you suggesting that any university other than Oxbridge probably isn’t worth the leap?