Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    anyone applied this year? should be hearing about places within 2 weeks or so. what distance training are people doing at the moment?

ReputationRep:
    Dear god no, running 26 miles, i respect anyone who can do that, but no, i'm not that good at endurance.

Those people are mental
    • Wiki Support Team

ReputationRep:
    Wiki Support Team
    how do you apply

ReputationRep:
    you're a little late. the only way you can guarantee a place now is to register with a specified charity but there is usually a minimum amount you have to raise, usually around £1000, but poss. more.

ReputationRep:
    I've signed up for info on the 2010 ballot. I'd love to run a marathon but there is no way I will be able to commit to training for it this year (final year of uni, marathon is a few weeks before finals).

ReputationRep:
    I'd love to run it too but I know there's no way I can bet fit enough for it. I'm aiming for Dublin in October 09 and if that goes well then London 10.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by roxy potter)
    I'd love to run it too but I know there's no way I can bet fit enough for it. I'm aiming for Dublin in October 09 and if that goes well then London 10.
    Hoping to train for Dublin '09 myself, really depends what sort of base I can build up before starting marathon training though.

ReputationRep:
    I did a half marathon today and found this taxing in itself, although i could have trained a hell of alot more and tailored my diet that bit better...

I have respect for people who do half marathons but a whole load more for people who do the full shebang. Knowing what i do know, i know i'd have to work my butt-cheeks off, do the leg weights, do resistance/weights training, have a clean diet for a sustained period of time...for the full marathon. Makes you realize you really need a lifestyle change, make big sacrifices...to do a full marathon.

13 miles is alot, but 26 miles. Deary me