The Student Room Group

Which degree would you suggest I pursue?

Hi, I am a year 13 student studying A-level maths, physics and biology. I am really interested in biology A level, and it makes sense to me. I think it's because it's so relatable (if you know what I mean). So it would make sense for me to study a biology related degree for university. So I was set on nueroscience.

However, recently I looked at the A-level chemistry textbook and I ABSOLUTELY HATED IT. I just found the content so dull and boring. I think it's because biology is more about process which you can explain (eg. How blood flows around the body) whereas chemistry is more about maths, electrons ect. (kinda like physicsy stuff, and I don't really like physics) .

Obviously, biology comes with a bit of chemistry there any biology related degrees that aren't that related to chemistry? I'm pretty sure that nueroscience is alot of chemistry, so is biomedical sciences and maybe biological science.

I would just do a straight up biology degree, but I only want to study the human parts of biology ( eg. homeostasis/ enzymes in our body/ blood vessels) I wouldn't really like to study plant biology or ecology.

If I have the option between plant bio/ecology or chemistry/maths. I would choose plant bio/eco.
Reply 1
bio engineering
natural sciences
maths degree
biomedicine
biomedical engineering
biosciences
engineer ? - depends on uni
pharmacology - there is bits of chem I will check

There are many jobs that one can do with a maths / bio related degree whether that be lab work, a nhs scientist , medical liaison a professor at uni etc etc good luck !
with biology there is always a lot of chemistry in it to be honest but if a degree interests u then maybe it could be a compromise ;/
(edited 3 years ago)
Original post by muhammad0112