__Khaleesi
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
I have a bit of n odd question. I am an international student at St Andrews from South Africa. My family have a tradition of going straight to Sandhurst after boarding school. I am not so keen on the idea of commissioning into the military for 5+ years. However, I don’t want to let the side down and I wouldn’t mind attending Sandhurst at all. A friend of mine from Jordan suggested that it is possible to attend Sandhurst for the 44 weeks and pay for the course and not have to commission after passing out. I wanted to find out if there’s any truth to that, and how one might go about that. All assistance would be much appreciated.
Schleigg
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
I've browsed your posting history and it's a bit suspect but here we go nonetheless:

No not really.

Main reasons are as follows:

1) As a South African you potentially won't make the residency or nationality requirements.

2) Sandhurst don't want customers and your course-mates certainly wouldn't appreciate having you there if you're not serious. The only people who attend the commissioning course are either from the UK or from selected allied nations who are commissioning into their respective armies. To address the suggestion made by your Jordanian friend: the International students' government pay the UK government to provide training for their candidates through international diplomatic agreements. It's not a case of simply rocking up and swiping your credit card at the front desk.

3) It's a bit late to be "going straight to Sandhurst after boarding school" if you've already gone from school to LSE to St Andrews.

Might I suggest you enquire at the Tayforth UOTC and see if you fancy a career in the Army?
__Khaleesi
Rep:
?
(Original post by Schleigg)
I've browsed your posting history and it's a bit suspect but here we go nonetheless:

No not really.

Main reasons are as follows: