The Student Room Group

Learning to drive as a uni student

Hiya,
So I’m an estranged student and was wondering if it would be worth the while learning to drive and getting a car while at uni? I’m in my second year doing a teaching degree. Cars are expensive and all that comes with it too, I am trying to get a job but most jobs (in the field of healthcare) require a full UK driving license that I’ve applied to.

I can understand that it can be easier/cheaper to use public transport and such, however I feel that a car may be useful when it comes to placements, to work (if I can get one) and just everyday essentials such as supermarkets.

Uni halls is basically my home, and my main income is essentially SFE at the moment. What would you suggest I do regarding a car?

Huge thank you in advance!x
Reply 1
Original post by ionacrx
Hiya,
So I’m an estranged student and was wondering if it would be worth the while learning to drive and getting a car while at uni? I’m in my second year doing a teaching degree. Cars are expensive and all that comes with it too, I am trying to get a job but most jobs (in the field of healthcare) require a full UK driving license that I’ve applied to.

I can understand that it can be easier/cheaper to use public transport and such, however I feel that a car may be useful when it comes to placements, to work (if I can get one) and just everyday essentials such as supermarkets.

Uni halls is basically my home, and my main income is essentially SFE at the moment. What would you suggest I do regarding a car?

It tends to be easier to learn new skills when you're younger.