kashootmyself
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 8 months ago
I have recently been put into latin ( y10) but i have never done it before. does anyone reccommend any easy ways to start from scratch. i am currently doing OCR LATIN TO GCSE 1 but i'm finding it quite challenging. any help would be appreciated
athena5967
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
Hi! Have you been given your GCSE vocab list yet? If you have, I put mine into a big quizlet, (if you want to take a look - https://quizlet.com/gb/487999942/lat...=29xuds&x=1jqY ) I've got them separated into letter grouping as well as it makes it easier to learn so that something you could think about. (Obviously these words might have changed ever so slightly for you but its a good start to familiarising yourself to the words.)

My class was recommended this book by my latin teacher, its called Essential GCSE Latin by John Taylor (Make sure its the third edition!), and it goes through everything you need for OCR GCSE - literally everything.

If you have anything else you want to know just message me! I'm year 11 and I was doing OCR too
artful_lounger
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 8 months ago
I've not done Latin GCSE specifically, but have done some Latin in other course formats and work on other ancient languages as well, so my experiences generally have been that the main thing is to keep on top of both grammar and vocab - the vocab list form(s) is(/are) useless without the grammar! However you need the vocab to be able to use the grammar, as otherwise you can recognise all the forms but have no idea what it means. And to practice as much as possible! Every day if you can do even a little bit, it really adds up. Languages (ancient or otherwise, but maybe especially ancient) aren't subjects that you can "cram" before the exam, you really need to be building up your skills over the whole course, so that by the end you've internalised the material and just know off the top of your head certai things.