The Student Room Group

mentally struggling with university

hi, i’m feeling very overwhelmed and anxious about uni this year. i am in second year and i am crying all the time and having sleepless nights.
i have all my classes online for the entire year and i have not been to one in person class - i’m also paying thousands for a house i’ve never stepped foot in.

my uni classes are mostly pre recorded and i have little to no opportunity to ask questions.

i feel depressed all of the time. i really want to complete my degree but i can’t help but think i would be doing much better if classes were in person and the stress of covid wasn’t a thing.

i feel so out of the loop and stupid. i feel hopeless. it’s really affecting my mental health. i have so many things due and i can’t keep on top of it all.

Is there any way i can repeat a year and hope the classes are in person next year?

does anyone have any experiences with this?
If things are feeling overwhelming please know that it really is understandable and it’s great that you’ve made the first step of reaching out to others!

Even anonymous post on to an online forum is a good first step!

My advise is to contact your tutor, contact a course admin, and contact a GP. You might find the first person is the most helpful, you might find the first two rubbish and it ends up the 3rd person who helps the most. Please don’t be disheartened if the fist person doesn’t seem to get the ball rolling very quickly! A variety of people can help in small different ways! (It’s part of the reason there are lots of conflicting options for support, sometimes some people are just more affective than others!)

Speak to your tutor about the course. They could get the ball rolling on swapping some of your grade options. (Eg two graded essays for a module become just one needed- plus lots of different options)