kash_22
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am currently doing Maths, Chemistry, Physics and English Literature.
I have the option of doing Further Maths next year but... it's going to be too much work right even though I have a lot of work experience for it

Which should I do?
What work experience do I need for Chemical Engineering if I do it?
FerrousS
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Computer science and chemical engineering are very different courses. What do you like about each one?

Computer science is about computers and coding. Chemical Engineering is the application of chemical processes on a large industrial scale, with a specific emphasis on manufacturing.

For Chemical Engineering work experience isn't super important, as you won't be able to actually do much. I went to a water treatment plant and an agrichemical manufacturing plant. I mostly just shadowed people because there isn't much that health and safety allows an unqualified minor to do. I did get to do a little practical lab work in the agrichemical place, where we were testing effluent samples. While it was interesting, at the end of the day I don't know how much use it actually was in getting my university place. It is, however, possible to get better work experience in the form of summer placements, once you've actually started the degree.
plshelpmelol
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by kash_22)
I am currently doing Maths, Chemistry, Physics and English Literature.
I have the option of doing Further Maths next year but... it's going to be too much work right even though I have a lot of work experience for it

Which should I do?
What work experience do I need for Chemical Engineering if I
(Original post by FerrousS)
Computer science and chemical engineering are very different courses. What do you like about each one?