The Student Room Group
University College London, University of London
University College London
London

UCL & Commuting - Would this be viable?

Hi!

I am a current Y12 student and I have started to think about my options for university. I would like to study English Literature. My college has asked me to consider Oxford and Cambridge (as I am a high-achiever), but I believe that UCL may be a better option for me.

I live in a commuter town on the Surrey/London border and it would take me just over an hour to travel from London to UCL. For personal reasons, I don't feel as if I would be able to leave home. My family need me.

I help to look after elderly family members. They have promised to pay me a fair hourly wage (which is agreed in writing), in addition to flexible hours that would work around my university schedule. Thus, I wouldn't need to find a part-time job.

I have other universities on my back-up list, namely: King's College, St Mary's, Royal Holloway and University of Surrey.

My parents agree with my decision, although are worried that I will miss out on having a typical social life at university. Hopefully, I will be okay if I make an effort to meet others when on campus :smile:

Anyways, I was wondering if any current UCL students think that this situation would be viable? I want to know as much as possible so I can make informed decisions when they are called for.

Thanks!
Original post by Anonymous
Hi!

I am a current Y12 student and I have started to think about my options for university. I would like to study English Literature. My college has asked me to consider Oxford and Cambridge (as I am a high-achiever), but I believe that UCL may be a better option for me.

I live in a commuter town on the Surrey/London border and it would take me just over an hour to travel from London to UCL. For personal reasons, I don't feel as if I would be able to leave home. My family need me.