TP9
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I am in my mid 40 s and considering a career change to qualify as an educational psychologist. As I have limited knowledge in this area could you please advise if :
1. a conversion course at any uni would be accepted as eligible entry to a psy ed doctorate? ( thinking of middlesex uni as its close to where I live)
2. Any particular modules that i should look for, that would help me get in to a doctorate for educational psychologist?
3.What can I do to increase my chances of acceptance in to a doctorate programme ?
4. Could mid 40's be considered too mature to be accepted in to a educational psychologist doctorate course?
thank you for any and all responses!
HearMeRoar
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hello! You are never too old for a career change, don't let your age stop you from pursuing your dreams!
If you want to be an educational psychologist then a conversion degree in Psychology is a good initial step to achieving your goal!

A typical route to becoming an Ed Psych is this:
1. Your undergraduate degree must meet the standards for accreditation by the British Psychological Society (assuming you live in the UK and want to work here) - graduating with a 2:1 or higher enables you to apply for a graduate basis for chartered membership of the BPS.
2. Most students then choose to complete a Masters (especially if their first degree is not accredited or higher than a 2:1) or gain relevant experience working with children in educational, childcare or community settings.
3. You will then need to complete a 3 year Taught Doctorate in Educational Psychology to gain eligibility to apply for registration with the HPC (Health Professions Council) to become a Chartered Educational Psychologist (this means you will be able to practise as an Ed Psych)