Which deaneries offer a FY public health rotation? What did/do you make of them?

Watch
Wise-me
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hi everyone, I'm a final yr student and have always had an interest in public health and was wondering if anyone had any experience of a public health FY rotation. There's not much info out there (correct me if I'm wrong ) and I'm particularly interested in any within the South Thames deanery. Thank you so much in advance!
Advertisement
nexttime
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Oxford have a large public health/international health department and offer FY posts.

It sounded really good - basically doing public health projects for 4 months, whilst sitting in on their meetings and getting some experience.

The only trouble is: how competitive it is to get into public health afterwards!
mrs_bellamy
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
If you have an interest in public health I would highly recommend a placement in it in Foundation, or if you can't get one, a taster week. Public health is so different from clinical medicine, and working in public health is very different from studying it (I am a dual public health and GP trainee). Many parts of the country have F2 rotations. This is a great summary of someone's experience as an F2 in public health: https://heeoe.hee.nhs.uk/sites/defau...ment_in_f2.pdf
Anonymous #1
Report 1 month ago
Hi - does anyone have any experience of doing PH in Central + East London/South Thames? Also is it possible to get involved in research during the placement or is mostly practical things (e.g. making reports, etc)?
Wise-me
Rep:
?
(Original post by nexttime)
Oxford have a large public health/international health department and offer FY posts.

It sounded really good - basically doing public health projects for 4 months, whilst sitting in on their meetings and getting some experience.

The only trouble is: how competitive it is to get into public health afterwards!