What subjects can you study in sixth form?

Watch
quackeda
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
So I'm currently coming up on my GCSE's, and my teachers have been putting a lot of pressure on us to think/decide what we want to do after. I really want to go to university. We have NEVER had any of this explained to us, so I didn't even know how I was meant to go about getting into university before I asked my nan.

She said I have to go to either sixth form or college to get my A-levels, and I feel like sixth form would be better for me. But, again, we have never had any of this explained to us, so I have a question;

What subjects can I actually study in sixth form? And following that, university?

What I mean is, do I have to take a subject that I studied for GCSE? For example, I picked art and music for their GCSE's, but we picked our subjects when we were 13. So, of course, things have changed, and I've recently discovered my love and talent for computer science.

This IS a subject that my school provides at GCSE level, but they refused to let this me pick it because my grades in English were "too low" (considering I was in top set, and achieving very high, this was a blatant lie, but okay). So even if I had realised that I wanted to do computer science way back then, I wouldn't have been aloud to take it.

So now I'm kinda worried. I really do want to go to university for computer science, but I don't know if I will be able to take it in sixth form. Maybe this is a stupid question, but our school never even explained WHEN WE ARE MEANT TO TAKE OUR GCSE'S, so we really do have no information about this stuff, and if we ask our teachers, they just tell us it's "not important yet".

Thanks.
userhep
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Hi,
I'm sorry it seems you've been denied so much information.