Nathan8520
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Currently in year 12 and looking to apply to Oxbridge but having a hard time deciding weather Oxford or Cambridge would be better. From what I have found Cambridge is generally regarded as the better one for cs but after looking at the website I am finding it hard to pick one.I am studying maths, further maths, physics, chemistry and computer science and got decent GCSEs. I am much more interested in the programming and algorithms side of cs than computer architecture and networking. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Dillt2003
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Both are world-leading universities, so try and not let a marginally better reputation for one university sway your judgement. Instead, consider which university offers you the best choices, most suited to your interests: is one particularly good with respects to programming and algorithms?

That being said, I applied to Cambridge (for History) and it's 10000% better!
Muttley79
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Nathan8520)
Currently in year 12 and looking to apply to Oxbridge but having a hard time deciding weather Oxford or Cambridge would be better. From what I have found Cambridge is generally regarded as the better one for cs but after looking at the website I am finding it hard to pick one.I am studying maths, further maths, physics, chemistry and computer science and got decent GCSEs. I am much more interested in the programming and algorithms side of cs than computer architecture and networking. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Go somewhere offering a year in industry ..
oppiwall
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago
Ignore people who come on Oxbridge threads and tell you to go elsewhere.
casabonita
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 weeks ago