Adhilm18
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Can someone tell me what you actually do as a civil engineer and what its like studying it in university, was it interesting? did you enjoy it?

Also I heard that mot people who do an engineering degree usually go for a career in finance, can anyone tell me more about this?
University of Surrey Student Rep
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
(Original post by Adhilm18)
Can someone tell me what you actually do as a civil engineer and what its like studying it in university, was it interesting? did you enjoy it?

Also I heard that mot people who do an engineering degree usually go for a career in finance, can anyone tell me more about this?
Hi there!
My name is Anna and I am studying civil engineering at the University of Surrey. I am in my placement year (3rd year) so I am actually working with a company in their highways department, doing tasks related to highway design and working with other civil engineers.

To answer your first question, what do you do as a civil engineer? Civil engineers are involved in the design of structures such as bridges, buildings, tunnels, drainage systems, roads, etc. The list is honestly so broad and endless. There are two sides to civil engineering, one is consulting where you are based in the office helping out with the design side of things and doing calculations as well as the occasional site visits. The other side is contracting where you are site based, and making sure the the designs produced match up with what's happening on site. So my placement that I am doing is consulting based. I would be working in the office but now currently working from home due to Covid.

How I found my course in 1st year at Surrey: