The Student Room Group

Is FY1 as bad as people say? Tips to cope?

Hello! So in final year at the moment and I've heard horror stories about the way FY1/FY2's are treated. How bad is it? Why is it so bad? Is it better or worse than being a student?

Feel like I'm not very good at dealing with people being mean for no reason/might be slightly insecure as a person so a bit worried about whether I'm resilient enough. I've been dealing okay with things at medical school but it would be good to know what makes it foundation so hard and if there's anything I can do now to prepare for FY1/make things easier?

I'm small, BME female so from what I've been told/have read online will probs not be the nurses favourite lol. Have had good feedback on placement about my medical knowledge, being organised/conscientious, good with patients etc but I do worry about the potential pressures of FY1 and how I'll cope in a healthy-ish way.
Original post by Anonymous
Hello! So in final year at the moment and I've heard horror stories about the way FY1/FY2's are treated. How bad is it? Why is it so bad? Is it better or worse than being a student?

Feel like I'm not very good at dealing with people being mean for no reason/might be slightly insecure as a person so a bit worried about whether I'm resilient enough. I've been dealing okay with things at medical school but it would be good to know what makes it foundation so hard and if there's anything I can do now to prepare for FY1/make things easier?

I'm small, BME female so from what I've been told/have read online will probs not be the nurses favourite lol. Have had good feedback on placement about my medical knowledge, being organised/conscientious, good with patients etc but I do worry about the potential pressures of FY1 and how I'll cope in a healthy-ish way.