Shia_K
Badges: 8
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Im finding Biology extremely hard to cope with. The content isn’t particularly hard to understand, it’s more of a time problem and the fact that I have gaps in my knowledge. I feel as if there isn’t much time to do so much. What do I do? How do I efficiently revise and get bigger grades 🥺
Embz1234
Badges: 5
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
I would say the most effective way I studied biology (and all my subjects, but I was particularly successful with bio, i'm now doing a masters in biomed) is checklists, and active recall of knowledge. Find a detailed checklist for your spec (if you google personalised learning checklist and your exam board they usually come up) so you can find specific gaps in your knowledge rather than just thinking about it in big chapters. Also, probably the most useful tool I used for revision (which I used through all fo my undergrad too) is brainscape. Its a free online flashcard service, but its great because you rank the cards based on how well you know them and then the ones you're less confident with come up more often. There are loads of decks people have made for various topics and courses and its way more effective that just reading the text book. Also once you're more familiar with the content, use past paper questions to practise applying the knowledge. Physics and maths tutor has loads of bio past papers too. Just make sure you're actively revising and recalling knowledge either by doing questions (or I also found trying to make mindmaps about a topic from memory helpful too bc i'm a visual learner) rather than just passively reading because you'll remember and understand way less that way.
val7322
Badges: 14
Rep:
Report 1 year ago
Shia_KEmbz1234