Modern Languages for Classicists

Watch
turbotimo
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 11 months ago
Hey everyone,

I'm going to be doing a master's program in Classics next year. I studied Latin, Ancient Greek, and German in undergrad. I'm hoping to start studying either French or Italian in the months leading up to my master's program.

I've heard that French is generally more useful if you work on the Greek side of things, while Italian is more useful on the Latin side of things. Is there anything to this?

I'm most interested in later Roman history and Latin texts. I also learned some Italian in elementary school (though I've forgotten nearly all of it). Because of all this, I'm leaning towards Italian. I'm open to any advice, however.

Many thanks!
tinygirl96
Badges: 21
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 10 months ago
Pros and cons of each
studygirl388
Badges: 15
Rep:
Report 10 months ago
Not sure about the vague answer above?

Latin and Italian are similar because Italian is a neo-Latin language, but so is French. I'd say overall though, you may find learning Italian easier than learning French due to your experience with Latin. There are many lexical cognates and similarities. Aside from Romanian, Italian is found to be the closest to Latin in terms of phonology, inflection, syntax, vocabulary, and intonation.

I am a speaker of French and have also studied Greek in the past. They are both Indo-European languages so there are some similarities, but obviously they have an entirely different alphabet. And the similarities that are present, aren't really there in abundance. I've not really found that knowing vocabulary in one has helped with the other.

Given your interests in Roman history etc., I'd pick Italian.
turbotimo
Rep: