Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hello!

The tragic story of a cancelled year abroad

Spoiler:
Show

I am a third year university student (in Scotland so fortunately I've got a year left) but I've been struggling a huge amount this year with finding the motivation to do anything. This is especially because I was supposed to be on a year abroad this year as a language student which did no go ahead because of COVID.

Because of there being a whole third year of language students that the uni wouldn't normally have, we haven't had very many classes to compensate. I have two oral classes a week but it's not exactly the same, and since it doesn't count for anything it is very hard to remain motivated (plus having oral classes online is just a bit grim).

I am fortunate enough to study a joint degree which means that I have had some classes with my other subject. However, in realistic terms this just means that I have a single course this semester whereas abroad I was supposed to have 5 each semester... So better than others have but not as much as it should have been.

On top of this, I am currently awaiting a (very, thanks COVID) delayed operation to fix a major sports injury I gave myself in 2019. It means that most/all exercise options that are currently available I cannot do, and I used to use sport as an outlet and just for good mood, productivity feelings, etc.

What I need to do

Spoiler:
Show

With the one course that I do have, I am very far behind on everything because I just haven't done anything so far this semester. My plan is to catch up on this and then generally get my act together. Part of the issue I've had has been a lack of assessment - all of my assessment for this course is piled on top of each other in March / April so I've just been doing absolutely nothing because 'I have time'.