How to dismantle white supremacy and bring antiracist teaching practices to the class

Watch
Azagthoa
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 days ago
Hi all,

I'm a maths teacher looking for help in dismantling white supremacy and bringing antiracist practices when teaching maths in the classroom. I'm following this guide (https://equitablemath.org/wp-content.../1_STRIDE1.pdf) in terms of teaching maths in a way that does not reinforce white supremacy such as teaching in a non-linear fashion, not requiring students to show their working and encouraging students not to see their errors are mistakes. Can anyone provide any further tips for making a classroom inclusive and equitable?

Many thanks.
WassupLadz
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
(Original post by Azagthoa)
Hi all,

I'm a maths teacher looking for help in dismantling white supremacy and bringing antiracist practices when teaching maths in the classroom. I'm following this guide (https://equitablemath.org/wp-content.../1_STRIDE1.pdf) in terms of teaching maths in a way that does not reinforce white supremacy such as teaching in a non-linear fashion, not requiring students to show their working and encouraging students not to see their errors are mistakes. Can anyone provide any further tips for making a classroom inclusive and equitable?

Many thanks.
I’m an A Level student, so I’m a bit concerned about the fact that people talk about race in the classroom. It shouldn’t even be a conversation, classrooms are for learning.