2TchOrNot2Tch
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 days ago
Hi All,

I am a first-class graduate of a Biochemistry degree, and am currently working in a top 50 international corporation in this field (11 years this year). On a daily basis I use A-Level Maths and Physics, and degree/masters level Chemistry/Biochemistry in my role.

My concern is the getting into teaching documentation I have read is strongly centred on teaching only one's A-Level fields and degree, rather than professional learnings. I can appreciate most NQT applicants will be directly after their degree and why the documentation may be tilted in this manner - but is there scope for professional learnings too?

I achieved a good degree score but my A-Levels are rather average (Teen motivation vs adult motivation in effect there. I also don't have the A-Level certificates anymore, move after move seems to have taken its toll).

How rigid are these rules? I know the GCSE Maths material like the back of my hand, and would feel confident teaching it without any revision (because I use it daily already), but my A-Levels are only Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Psychology.

I am wondering if these teaching institutions take into account that Science degrees in general (apart from maybe straight Biology) use A-Level maths. Year 3 Chemistry we were doing some quantum mechanics of the Pi interactions of Benzene rings. That was definitely upper A-Level maths if not further into degree. At work we need to use high level Calculus etc,

I would prefer to teach Maths over other subjects. Over the 10 years in industry with Chemistry I have simply fallen out of love with it and prefer Maths.

Is it going to be tough teaching maths without an A-Level or degree in it, but valid proof I have used higher maths in the degree and in a professional capacity?
SarcAndSpark
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 1 day ago