Deadlift tips please im desperate

Watch
deadlift_noob
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
So I have started deadlifting, I avoided it because I was scared of injuries but I am learning the form and feel more confident doing so and enjoy it very much. The current numbers were taken from my first time ever deadlifting and will be investing in a belt soon to help me more.

My current 1 rep max is 100kg/220lbs and my working sets are 40kg/88lbs for 5. These are not that impressive and I want to build upon this. Are there any rep ranges that would help build strength? And how many sets should I aim for and how many times a week? Any help is appreciated
molly_douglas
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Hey! I have been weightlifting for probably around two years now and I have also avoided deadlifts for a long time as I always feel that I’m not doing them correctly as I don’t tend to feel my leg muscles working, more so my arms/back.

However, I did them for the first time last week and I did 55kg for 10 reps. Regarding building up strength, I would advise you to work a lot on your glutes, I personally do squats, hip thrusts and ball squats every time I train legs to work my glutes.

Please keep in mind that I’m far from an expert and this is just what I do when I weightlift!
Calibrated.
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by deadlift_noob)
So I have started deadlifting, I avoided it because I was scared of injuries but I am learning the form and feel more confident doing so and enjoy it very much. The current numbers were taken from my first time ever deadlifting and will be investing in a belt soon to help me more.

My current 1 rep max is 100kg/220lbs and my working sets are 40kg/88lbs for 5. These are not that impressive and I want to build upon this. Are there any rep ranges that would help build strength? And how many sets should I aim for and how many times a week? Any help is appreciated