Accidentally plagiarised 12 words and not sure what to do.

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
I accidentally plagiarised 12 words in my recent policy brief assignment. I am in my second year and I have never plagiarised before and I don't know the consequences.
I have very good memory retention and when a phrase sticks with me I remember it. Anyway, when I was writing my conclusion I didn't read from any of my notes I was just summarising and somehow I plagiarised a whole 12 words???

My sentence was as follows and the plagiarised bit is in bold... To conclude, what has been made fundamentally important through this policy brief is that 'foreign criminals' who are considered de-facto citizens have both a human right to stay and a membership right to residence.

I am unsure on whether I should email my lecturer or if it isn't a problem, I don't want to get downgraded over an accident.

I would be grateful for any advice, thank you.
University of Strathclyde Student Ambassador
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I accidentally plagiarised 12 words in my recent policy brief assignment. I am in my second year and I have never plagiarised before and I don't know the consequences.
I have very good memory retention and when a phrase sticks with me I remember it. Anyway, when I was writing my conclusion I didn't read from any of my notes I was just summarising and somehow I plagiarised a whole 12 words???

My sentence was as follows and the plagiarised bit is in bold... To conclude, what has been made fundamentally important through this policy brief is that 'foreign criminals' who are considered de-facto citizens have both a human right to stay and a membership right to residence.

I am unsure on whether I should email my lecturer or if it isn't a problem, I don't want to get downgraded over an accident.

I would be grateful for any advice, thank you.
Hey,