Parents refuse to help with funding, what do

Watch
ad2904
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Basically, we fall in to the upper bracket of earnings therefore I will receive the smallest loan. SAAS are assuming my parents are willing to support me along the way but they are not. They also have not taken in to account that of what my Father earns I only see in food, water and electricity. I have a job myself but I'm on min. wage and due to the pandemic I'm on furlough which is about £60 a month. I know I should save, but that money tends to go towards clothing as have very little from when I moved in, bus fare as I cannot drive/be driven, toiletries etc. Basically, I'm looking for advice on what I can do to make student living a little easier as I won't have much to go on. The loan I'm eligible for just about cover the cheapest accommodation at my first choice.I'm sure I'd be able to get a job but as I am a younger student (17) I'm worried that a lot of places will be reluctant to hire me.Anyway, sorry for rambling, help pls
PQ
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
Have you spoken to your parents about your situation? SAAS assume that they will contribute financially.
ad2904
Rep:
?
Yes I have spoken to them. My parents assume that I'll be getting a job that will cover all expenses. I've tried to explain that I'm too young for some employers but they won't listen.
tatekiveal
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
i know how you feel, though your situation is more severe. I would definitely get in touch with your uni and even your sixth form, ask about scholarships. That's the best advice I think I can give. You may even be able to reach out to prospective companies that you may want to work with after uni, to see if they can sponsor you.
Uni_Student321
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
This is the big flaw with student loans. They assume parents will contribute which isn't the case in many cases. I think this is a problem that needs fixing.
PQ
Rep:
?