strydomj
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
Hi all, I am looking for some honest advice.
I graduated with a BA in Molecular Medicine in 2020. During the summer I was terrified that I wont have anything to do in September so I applied for masters degrees, PhDs and also sat the GAMSAT for graduate entry medicine during my final year. In the end I received both a funded PhD and graduate medicine offer. I decided to start my PhD in respiratory immunology and defer medicine for a year just in case things dont work out.
Here I am now, 6 months into my PhD. The science is very interesting but also quite overwhelming. My supervisor moved labs so things are only getting set up now and I havent actually set foot in the lab at all. She is also pregnant and will be going on maternity leave. I am miserable and extremely negative about my situation but I dont want to blame my supervisor either (a lot of it is not her fault). However, I feel that I have not been given a lot of support or guidance and a lot of false promises have been made. The idea of medicine is attracting me more and more, especially with the fact that I have a place to start in September. A job in academia is becoming more and more awful to me.
Graduate entry medicine will be a big financial burden and many say that it is not wise to quit a fully funded phd for no income and debt.
I guess I just want some advice on whether it is worth continuing with my PhD and just hope it gets better or quit while I am not that far into it with little valuable lab experience and start medicine in September?
ecolier
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 1 week ago
(Original post by strydomj)