Essay Tips: Can't seem to get any higher than 70.

Watch
bethgirl0097
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 days ago
Hello there,

I am just after some advice. I am in my last year of university and for my grades this year I was aiming for over 80's. However, I just can't seem to get above a 73 at the moment, I have had an 80 before and when comparing the essays, there is nothing different in the style, the references, the content, critical analysis, etc.

it is really frustrating as I would really like to secure a first, but I just can't seem to get past the 73 mark!

Any useful hints or tips would be greatly appreciated, thank you so much
tinygirl96
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
show me your essay
University of Liverpool Student Rep
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 3 days ago
(Original post by bethgirl0097)
Hello there,

I am just after some advice. I am in my last year of university and for my grades this year I was aiming for over 80's. However, I just can't seem to get above a 73 at the moment, I have had an 80 before and when comparing the essays, there is nothing different in the style, the references, the content, critical analysis, etc.

it is really frustrating as I would really like to secure a first, but I just can't seem to get past the 73 mark!

Hi!

Each year at university will get harder, this may be in terms of the content or the marking.

Each module and assignment requirements are different but I would suggest having meetings with your module leaders and discuss with them how you could improve. Perhaps you need to be more critical or observe other perspectives etc. so try not to be too rigid in your writing technique. Whilst how you were writing was working amazingly well for you last year, perhaps this year you need to take it to the next level, so allow yourself to be flexible to feedback!