Opening a bank account with CIFAS marker.

Watch this thread
warna93
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
I've recently been marked for CIFAS, where I was scammed by someone who used my account, which resulted the bank x to close my basic account. My life has turned upside down as I’m a university student at second year, I have no understanding or any clue what to expect in the next month or so. At the moment the bank has declared through phone that I will be marked and added to the CIFAS database. Did check my credit report, where it implies that bank will update at 10th next month, so no CIFAS data at the moment.

Student account, Student Finance, tuition fees and maintenance loan:
On top of that, I’ve read articles implying that CIFAS marker will close all major high street banks where my student account is one of them(HSBC). Coming May, Student Finance will pay the tuition fees to my university, but not sure if that’s possible if HSBC closes the student account due to CIFAS.

Current application:
Even Though, I have applied to Nationwide, Monzo, and Card one banks. The bank Nationwide is a major high street bank where I have read articles that they close the accounts after being notified by CIFAS marker, even if the marker was initiated from another bank. Although like I said the banks x has still not updated about the CIFAS marker. Fortunately, I was notified that my Nationwide account was successfully created today, yet I am not sure whether if they will close my account when they see my CIFAS marker present when credit report is updates. Still waiting for Monzo and Card one…

My question: