ppmaz
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
I am looking for advice on the new route into law. I understand the SQE is replacing the LPC and the GDL, but what does this mean for non law degree students? What course can I take to gain law knowledge, or is that included in the SQE? How do you look for the QWE?
I have a degree in Forensic Psychology, I work with children in care and would love to become a family law solicitor.
What happens after the SQEs and QWE? Are you then a fully fledged solicitor ready to work?
17Student17
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
If you want to go the new route then you can either cram for SQE1 yourself at home and then pay to take SQE1 exams or do an SQE1 course and then SQE1 exam - so probably for some that will be a full time course like BPP's Sept - April new style GDL my sons are doing but with separate SQE1 exams on top. Then a year's course to do SQEII preparation and exams (or do it over 2 years part time perhaps whilst working in a law role). Then the bigger firms would like people having passed both SQEI and II then to do 2 years of training with them. Or you might be able to find up to 4 6 month stints which are supervised by a solicitor - so once you pass SQEi and II and have finished the 2 years and found to be of suitable standing etc then you will be qualified. I am not sure it is too different from the current system once you get into it but may be easier for some to qualify.

You are indeed a fully qualified solicitor after the SQE1 and II exams and the 2 years of qualifying work experience supervised by a solicitor etc.
17Student17
Rep:
?
Report 4 months ago
There is also quite a good diagram at the bottom on this link of the training put out by big law firms - https://www.slaughterandmay.com/medi...ay-2020_v4.pdf (for those who might want to train that way)
A.ME108
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago