The Student Room Group

Mechanical engineering foundation year?

Currently in year 12 and studying alevels psychology, english language and history.

Its a complete 180 from the previous subjects i wanted to study due to getting low predictions for my GCSEs last year. I resat maths and got a level 6 but didnt resit double science so I still have a level 4.

Ive discovered that at uni, they have foundation courses for people who didnt study the right subjects or other circumstances. I know what im studying rn isnt considered part of the STEM subjects, but if I get good grades (AAA is what im predicted at rn) and with my level 6 in maths, do you think i can do a foundation year at a good uni?
Original post by MonoAno555
Currently in year 12 and studying alevels psychology, english language and history.

Its a complete 180 from the previous subjects i wanted to study due to getting low predictions for my GCSEs last year. I resat maths and got a level 6 but didnt resit double science so I still have a level 4.

Ive discovered that at uni, they have foundation courses for people who didnt study the right subjects or other circumstances. I know what im studying rn isnt considered part of the STEM subjects, but if I get good grades (AAA is what im predicted at rn) and with my level 6 in maths, do you think i can do a foundation year at a good uni?

Good morning @MonoAno555 you are right, many universities offer courses with an integrated foundation year for students who wish to choose to study a particular subject at university but might not have the required subjects/grades to enter year one.

At USW we offer BEng (Hons) Mechanical Engineering (including a Foundation Year) and we would ask for grades EE at A level, we do not ask for specific subjects. This is a 4 year programme taught at our Pontypridd campus, just north of Cardiff.