Maths GCSE coursework- Standard deviation Watch

This discussion is closed.
fivebyfive
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 14 years ago
Hi,

I am currently doing Maths GCSE coursework. I have never used standard deviation before but I have looked at the mark scheme and if you do use it you can get higher marks.

For the coursework I am comparing the length of words from a magazine and a newspaper. I have used a sample of 200 words for both the newspaper and the magazine samples.
The mean length of the words for the magazine= 4.17
Mean for the newspaper=4.76 letters

How would I go about calculating the standard deviation? I am totaly clueless, so please explain it as simply as pos. I seem to remember that it should be drawn on a graph.

Thanks loads
Slice'N'Dice
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report 14 years ago
It's been a long time since I did any stats so I'm not of much help in this area sorry.

However here is the Standard deviation formula explained. I hope this helps in some small way.

Remember that, Standard deviation=√(variance).
fivebyfive
Rep:
?
(Original post by Slice'N'Dice)
It's been a long time since I did any stats so I'm not of much help in this area sorry.

However here is the Standard deviation formula explained. I hope this helps in some small way.

Remember that, Standard deviation=√(variance).
Hey thanks for your help, but I think that diagram is a bit beyond my mathematical abilities.
Slice'N'Dice
Rep:
?
Report 14 years ago
(Original post by fivebyfive)
Hey thanks for your help, but I think that diagram is a bit beyond my mathematical abilities.
No problem. Sorry I can't be of much help to you.

I have found a couple of links for you about SD. Try having a read through these. These may help slightly.

Standard Deviation
Standard Deviation (2)

fivebyfive
Rep:
?
(Original post by Slice'N'Dice)
No problem. Sorry I can't be of much help to you.

I have found a couple of links for you about SD. Try having a read through these. These may help slightly.