University of Leicester bachelor degree grading system

Watch
cloudyh
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
hi , I want to ask about grading system in University of Leicester , I'm in my first year now in the pandemic I got 66% and the grade is pass is that mean they will write pass in the transcript or they will write upper second class ?
I have two moulds one is 70% and the other is 66% how can I calculate my GPA ?
University of Leicester
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by cloudyh)
hi , I want to ask about grading system in University of Leicester , I'm in my first year now in the pandemic I got 66% and the grade is pass is that mean they will write pass in the transcript or they will write upper second class ?
I have two moulds one is 70% and the other is 66% how can I calculate my GPA ?
Hi cloudyh ,

That's a great question! Generally speaking for your first year of study you will only be required to pass (so score 40% or above). Whether you achieve a score of 66% this does not necessarily matter, because as long as you've passed the year it will show up on 'My Student Record' as Pass and Proceed. But when you get your transcript as part of your graduation, this may say individual grades for each module. Check with your module leader/course leader if you want to be sure how it's shown on your transcript once you've graduated. Your first year doesn't technically count towards your final grade as it is used more for getting to know the course a bit more, what you'll be studying, what assessments are like etc.

This then changes when you begin your second year as the weighting of your grades increase to counting 30/40% towards your final grade, then in 3rd year it increases again to 60/70%. Therefore depending on what you score in your 2nd and 3rd year that is how your final grade will be calculated. However this does vary slightly depending on the course, so definitely worth checking beforehand. What are you currently studying?