Will taking 3 AS Levels instead of 4 disadvantage me?

Watch
routesoup
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Let me preface this by saying I'm an international student from Malaysia whose planning to start my A levels this April (14-month course). Initially, I chose to do 4 subjects that was Maths, Further Maths, Chemistry and Physics. However, I decided it would be better to drop physics and keep the other three since 14 months is quite short. As for why its only 14 months, unfortunately because of covid my national exams which would have been in October last year got delayed to February 2021. Therefore I couldn't have joined the 18 month course in January as was my original plan.

Im planning to apply for these courses:
- Actuarial Science at LSE and Cass
- Maths at UCL, Imperial and KCL

With the exception of Cass and KCL, the other universities are all top universities. I know that doing only 3 A Levels wont disadvantage me, but what about only 3 AS Levels? I don't necessarily mind doing 4 AS Levels but I would like the extra time for extracurriculars to buff up my PS. I've also heard that certain universities like UCL require 4 AS? I don't know how true this is because I can't find anything on their website that says this. I will be having a session with the counsellor at my college later this week but I'd like to get an informed opinion on this.
Compost
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
Most UK students only take 3 A levels and do not take AS so you should be fine. However, the people most likely to do a fourth A level are those taking Further Maths but as long as you get top grades in Maths and FM I still think you'd be OK.
routesoup
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
(Original post by Compost)