Struggling with procrastination/time management? Here's a tip.

Watch
Ahus23
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
Hey everyone! I graduated a couple of years ago, but during my studies, I struggled with procrastination and managing my time across my various subjects/modules.

So, I developed a stopwatch technique, which worked miraculously for me. I bought a stopwatch off Amazon (wanted it to be a physical device, and not on my computer/phone to avoid distractions). It was very simple:

1. When I am studying, I would turn on my physical stopwatch. If I go on a break or I am distracted, I would pause the stopwatch.
  2. At the end of the day, I would log how many hours I focus-studied in an excel spreadsheet, and overtime, I became addicted to trying to beat my score (without cheating).

I think this worked well for me due to two reasons:

1. The stopwatch acted like a mental cue – when the timer was running, I better have been studying!
  2. I was able to work out how many hours I was wasting in the day and how long I was spending on my breaks.
  3. I procrastinate, yes, but I am inherently very competitive trying to beat my own score

If you are facing the same issues I faced, then definitely give this technique a go. I’m confident you’ll find positive results 😊

sumayaaa
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
this was posted at the right time, im gonna hopefully try this out. thank youuu!
Ahus23
Rep:
?
(Original post by sumayaaa)
this was posted at the right time, im gonna hopefully try this out. thank youuu!
No worries at all. Let me know how you get on!
CoochieMan
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
That's so useful thank you so much for posting this! Appreciate it
PeriATP
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
I love this! It seems so much more useful and motivating to focus on what you have achieved rather than what you haven't
Ahus23
Rep:
?