Differences in grade boundaries

Watch this thread
Cameron1144
Badges: 9
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 1 year ago
Can anyone help me understand why the grade boundaries that my teacher uses for class assessments is different from the latest ones published from the exam board? I am studying A Level Psychology with AQA and I’ve realised the grade boundaries used in college are different from the exam board ones. There is like a whole 10% difference, which is a lot on large exams like the mocks we have next week.

I have attached the correct grade boundaries for AQA below:
Name:  A20AE994-BDBF-4008-B4A3-E18A878F0E13.jpeg
Views: 94
Size:  177.6 KB

It is the difference of 1 grade, for example i recently got 19/30 on my last test and this is 63.3%. I got marked as a B. The official AQA grade boundaries state an A is 62.8%, so I’m worried if my teacher keeps marking like this it will affect my final grade and i wont get what i need for uni. This is not the only test grade that has been affected like this, and there is more evidence, so i doubt its just a marking error.

Any help on understanding this or approaching the subject would be helpful. TIA
Last edited by Cameron1144; 1 year ago
mnot
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 1 year ago
(Original post by Cameron1144)
Can anyone help me understand why the grade boundaries that my teacher uses for class assessments is different from the latest ones published from the exam board? I am studying A Level Psychology with AQA and I’ve realised the grade boundaries used in college are different from the exam board ones. There is like a whole 10% difference, which is a lot on large exams like the mocks we have next week.