BlackLab
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
After much thought and rethought I think I have finally chosen my S6 options, hoping to apply for Civil Engineering MEng. My top choice Uni would be Strathclyde.

S5 I am studying Higher Maths, Physics, Chemistry, English, French and targeting AAAAA/AAAAB.

S6 choices I am taking AH Maths, AH Physics and Higher Geography (crash) as relevant to Civil Engineering. All of which I am looking forward to doing.

The columns that are left have very limited options. The only subject I can pick up from NAT5 to Higher is PE, which I would like to do as a balance between science/academic and wellbeing/other interest. Alternatively I could take a crash in Higher Graphic Communications, Biology or Admin & IT.

If I am aiming for Civil Engineering, would taking PE Higher, which has no relation to engineering, in S6 be seen negatively?
Omair1201
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
if you have met all the entry requirements, in terms of subjects and grades needed, I don't think they care about the other subjects, and it won't be seen negatively.
snazzles
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 1 month ago
You'll have met the requirements already so the final subject is pretty much just up to your personal preference.

I'm currently studying general engineering and I've found that my background knowledge in Graphic Communication (there's been a fair amount of CAD and technical drawings), as well as Computing Science (we've been coding in python, MATLAB, and C) have been really useful as some others in my course without that background have struggled a little.

Assuming you have a decent personal statement, I'd say an offer from Strathclyde is pretty much guarenteed and it'd be very suprising if they conditioned you on the subject you're still choosing (it's possible you'll get an unconditional though).