Any current English with Creative Writing students?

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 1 month ago
I can’t decide between Loughborough and Lancaster for English with Creative Writing. Any advice from current students on the course or the university as a whole would be much appreciated.
Lancaster Student Ambassador
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 days ago
(Original post by Anonymous)
I can’t decide between Loughborough and Lancaster for English with Creative Writing. Any advice from current students on the course or the university as a whole would be much appreciated.
Hi there @Anonymous,

I'm a second year student at Lancaster studying English Literature and Creative Writing.

Personally, I couldn't recommend the degree more highly enough! My degree is 50% English Lit and 50% Creative Writing, but Lancaster also offer options of 75% English Lit and 25% Creative Writing, which you can find here. Additionally, we also offer combinations with English Language, which you can find here too.

I really like the combination of English and Creative Writing because it allows me to apply my critical thinking skills and analysis in reflective practice to my own creative work. In particular, I love creative writing at Lancaster due to the workshop sessions we have, where we submit work every other week for others to provide constructive criticism. Although this may sound scary, it's actually really useful to gain others' perspectives! The department as a whole are super friendly and there are lots of different modules for both English and Creative Writing to suit your own personal interests. If you have specific questions about the course, do let me know! You can also contact me directly on our Unibuddy platform here!

You can also find a blog here about an average week in the life of an English and Creative writing student.

If you have any questions, I'm happy to help!

Maria
2nd year English Literature, Creative Writing and Practice (placement year)
Loughborough University