Hb3003
Badges: 3
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 10 months ago
I have been accepted on two different Msc programs. Microbiology at Northumbria and wildlife management at Newcastle. I love both subjects and am struggling which would be the better option to go for... Seeking advice!
iNick1
Badges: 7
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 10 months ago
(Original post by Hb3003)
I have been accepted on two different Msc programs. Microbiology at Northumbria and wildlife management at Newcastle. I love both subjects and am struggling which would be the better option to go for... Seeking advice!
Where did you study previously? I did my undergrad and MSc at Newcastle. All I can recommend is if you studied at one of the unis already you may get a significant alumni discount. Without this however I always think it’s good to experience different unis. So if you haven’t been to either before then both will be an experience. Newcastle would be my pref but I may be biased ahah. However I did biochemistry at uni and having done a few microbiology modules I’m aware that it’s quite fascinating. What’s interesting about your question is the courses are significantly different. One is more science based and ideal for research if you like that, the other is more ... management as the name suggests. So you need to ask yourself what you really enjoy doing. If you love both then your in the best position. The only advice I could give in summary is just do what really get you excited to go into uni in the morning. Both are Newcastle so that doesn’t matter. Additionally I have a few friends from Newcastle but now at Northumbria who say that the staff if more approachable? Personally I haven’t had an issue with Newcastle in this regard. Wish you all the best!
physgradstudent