The Student Room Group

Transferring to US university

Hi, I want to transfer to a university in US.
I'm currently in my first year, and I was wondering if I should let counselor/tutors know that I'm attempting to transfer.
I'm honestly hesitating because they could take this as an offense, thinking I'm undervaluing its reputation.

Also, I have to apply in the middle of my term. The problem is, the scores won't be out by then. Does this mean I have to wait till 2nd year to apply? Can I ask the university for a conditional offer? I don't think they have something like conditional offer there, but still, what can I ask them to do?