Shweetyyy
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 months ago
I’m in my first year of university and I’m doing nursing, my placement are 12 weeks all together for this year and I am supposed to do 678 hours my first placement was 6 weeks and the second one would also be 6 weeks and lastly the third one will also be 6 weeks, I am supposed to go in for 3 days every week, I was wondering if I do extra days (like one day extra) just so I don’t end up doing my placement in August would that be allowed?
moosec
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
You’d need to check your own uni’s placement policy/ contact their placement team as each uni’s stances regarding placement can vary quite significantly

From personal knowledge, a lot of the uni’s I know of will not let you do over a certain number of hours per week, and no more days than stipulated on your rota.

It’s probably better to get your uni & placement area’s viewpoint - none of us on here would want to give you inaccurate information
Good luck with placement!
Emily_B
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
You're expected to do 37.5 hours a week as a student and max you're allowed to do is usually 48 hours. If your 3 shifts a week are 12 hours then that's only 36 hours - as long as you ask, many placements are ok with you doing an extra every so often to boost your hours.
moonkatt
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
I’m not sure if I fully get your question here, are you wanting to work over on your placements so you don’t need to attend another entire block of placement?
Shweetyyy
Rep:
?
(Original post by moonkatt)
I’m not sure if I fully get your question here, are you wanting to work over on your placements so you don’t need to attend another entire block of placement?
Yes
moonkatt
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
(Original post by Shweetyyy)
Yes
It is unlikely that your university will allow this tbh.
paub
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 3 months ago
wont happen and a bad idea to lose a placement.
Emily_B
Rep:
?