What year to apply for TC if doing the GDL?

Watch
rgwx
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Hi,

I'm in my second year of undergrad right now, on a humanities degree. I am hoping to apply for Training Contracts that fund the GDL and then the LPC if they accept you. But what year do I need to apply in?

If I apply for the 2023 training contract, that will leave me to start my GDL in 2022, then start my LPC in 2023 before joining the firm. Does this mean I would need to apply for the 2024 training contracts?

Thanks!
h0pefulstudent
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
What year are you due to graduate?
Generally when you apply to firms will depend on the firms in question - as a rule, non-law students will be applying in their final year, however some firms allow you to apply in penultimate year with a view to starting your training 3 years later. Even as things shift to the SQE rather than GDL and LPC, you will be looking to have a 2-year gap between graduating and starting the actual training contract. For some firms which do a accelerated LPC this might be reduced to 18 months, but if in doubt you can always get in touch and ask (as it's not always entirely clear!)
rgwx
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 months ago
Thanks for the info! I am due to graduate in 2022, which I think would put me in the 2024 training contract intake.
Manclass98
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 months ago
A lot of firms now aren't looking to do the traditional TC's past 2023. You've got some time to think about the route you take, but my advice would be to look into the SQE route instead, as by the time you graduate, that'll be in full swing anyway. Also, the GDL requires you to pay for it yourself, unless you get funding via a firm which as I say, will be changing by then. Take a look at the MA Law that the University of Law provides. It has everything the GDL teaches, plus prep for the SQE and it's a qualification level higher than the GDL, too.
h0pefulstudent