The Student Room Group

HNC electrical Engineering Maths Dimensional analysis

I'm after a few tips I'm a mature student 47 doing my HNC/HND my question is:
You are testing a decorative clock, to possibly be manufactured by your Consumer
Electronics division, and attach a mass (m) to a string of length (𝑙𝑙) to form a simple
pendulum. Assuming that the acceleration due to gravity (g) of the earth may have an
influence on the period (t) of the pendulum swing, use dimensional analysis to find a
formula for t which could possibly involve m, 𝑙𝑙, and g.

My answer:

t=constant x M(A) l(B) g(C)

Please could you give me some examples I'm not after the answer i just wat to understand it..and any help on writing answers on here would be great as I'm very rusty with maths but getting there.
Original post by shoneyman2001
I'm after a few tips I'm a mature student 47 doing my HNC/HND my question is:
You are testing a decorative clock, to possibly be manufactured by your Consumer
Electronics division, and attach a mass (m) to a string of length (𝑙𝑙) to form a simple
pendulum. Assuming that the acceleration due to gravity (g) of the earth may have an
influence on the period (t) of the pendulum swing, use dimensional analysis to find a
formula for t which could possibly involve m, 𝑙𝑙, and g.

My answer:

t=constant x M(A) l(B) g(C)

Please could you give me some examples I'm not after the answer i just wat to understand it..and any help on writing answers on here would be great as I'm very rusty with maths but getting there.

Put the units in your formula. Do the units on the right simplify to a unit of time? They need to.
Original post by Plücker
Put the units in your formula. Do the units on the right simplify to a unit of time? They need to.

Thanks i will reply with an answer
IMG_0085.jpg

This is my working out
IMG_0085.jpg

This is my working out

Can you please tell me if i am wrong or where i am going wrong
Can you please tell me if i am wrong or where i am going wrong