How does the professional training year at Surrey work?

Watch
stockerzz
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 months ago
Like do you get to choose where the placement is? Is it guaranteed? Particularly for Biomedical Science? etc.
University of Surrey Student Rep
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report 2 months ago
(Original post by stockerzz)
Like do you get to choose where the placement is? Is it guaranteed? Particularly for Biomedical Science? etc.
Hi there!

I am a second year student studying Psychology with a placement year! Hopefully I can be of some help

Once you go into second year so around August time, you would gain access to a platform called pathfinder. This is where the university advertise placements for all students who are wanting to do a placement year. This platform is there to help you source a placement. However you don't have to find a placement via this platform you can self-source a placement yourself such as look on job boards like indeed etc. These self-sourced placement do need to be approved to the university. So if you did apply for any of these you just let them know and all they do is just check that its suitable for your course etc . I managed to self-source my own placement and the university accepted it right away with ease! So yes you can choose where it is, just as long as its suitable to your course. The placement isn't guaranteed. You have until the end of second year (so august) to secure a placement. If you do not secure a placement then you would go straight into third year. The likelihood of you getting a placement is high, you just need to make sure your constantly applying and being proactive.