mollyt11
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 3 weeks ago
Hi! I'm currently in Year 10 and I have an interest in teaching secondary history in the future. I was wondering if anyone could let me know what minimum GCSE grades I would have to achieve? And I'd also like to know what other subjects I would be able to teach with a degree in history (if that is even possible?)

Thank you
Last edited by mollyt11; 3 weeks ago
Lydia Taylor (YSJU Student Ambassador)
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report 3 weeks ago
(Original post by mollyt11)
Hi! I'm currently in Year 10 and I have an interest in teaching secondary history in the future. I was wondering if anyone could let me know what minimum GCSE grades I would have to achieve? And I'd also like to know what other subjects I would be able to teach with a degree in history (if that is even possible?)

Thank you
Hello :ciao:

I am a Primary Education student so it is always great to hear from other aspiring teachers!

I am sure you know, the most typical route for this is completing a history degree and then a PGCE for a final fourth year to earn Qualified Teaching Status. Entry requirements for history degrees will vary across universities but PGCEs are a little more strict!

A PGCE requires a person to have a GCSEs at grade C/4 or above in English and mathematics. You also need to have completed a degree.

You can apply for a PGCE in any subject that has 50% relevance to your degree.

I hope this helps,
Lydia
mollyt11
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 1 week ago
(Original post by Lydia Taylor (YSJU Student Ambassador))
Hello :ciao:

I am a Primary Education student so it is always great to hear from other aspiring teachers!

I am sure you know, the most typical route for this is completing a history degree and then a PGCE for a final fourth year to earn Qualified Teaching Status. Entry requirements for history degrees will vary across universities but PGCEs are a little more strict!