Driving on motorways

Watch
a1driver
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 weeks ago
I have recently started driving and wondering about motorway lanes. I understand that I should be in left lanes unless I am overtaking. However if I am cruising at the max speed limit, do I need to get back to left lanes? Would I be blocking anyone because no one should be overtaking me because I am already at the max allowed speed?
rthompsonh
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
I'm not qualified to answer this question as I'm still learning, but personally I'd stay in the middle lane until I need to overtake or leave at the next junction.
Edit: Don't take the aforementioned advice! Stay in the left lane unless overtaking.
Last edited by rthompsonh; 2 weeks ago
lilGem
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by a1driver)
I have recently started driving and wondering about motorway lanes. I understand that I should be in left lanes unless I am overtaking. However if I am cruising at the max speed limit, do I need to get back to left lanes? Would I be blocking anyone because no one should be overtaking me because I am already at the max allowed speed?
You should always stay in the left lane unless overtaking.

Cars often go slightly above or below the speed limit so you'll find yourself doing the same. Just ensure when you do overtake you allow plenty of space between cars in the next lane along. You'll find cars overtaking you anyway- but the rule I tend to stick to is unless I'm overtaking I stay in the left lane (unless allowing space for merging or over-taking)
Anonymous #1
Report 2 weeks ago
(Original post by rthompsonh)
I'm not qualified to answer this question as I'm still learning, but personally I'd stay in the middle lane until I need to overtake or leave at the next junction.